I really enjoyed the articles "Glossary of Writing Careers" and "Author Day Jobs: 7 Authors Who Worked on the Side." The first article kind of gave me a little bit of hope because it helped me to realize that, just because I'll have a degree in Writing Arts when I graduate doesn't mean I'll be completely unattractive to potential employers. I was also interested in a lot of the careers listed so that gave me even more hope that I'll be able to find a job that I'll enjoy.

I was so surprised to read that all these famous and influential writers had worked at completely different jobs their whole lives.  I guess I always assumed that they spent every day at a desk, writing and philosophizing about the human condition. But, apparently, that was not the case. I was especially surprised to see that they worked at jobs completely unrelated to writing, like as doctors.



Leave a Reply.