Unfortunately, after having read the article "MA and MFA: The Final Word," I still am not completely sure the difference between the two.  From what I gathered from the article, if someone has an MFA they wouldn't necessarily need to get a PhD.  On the other hand, if someone has an MA and want to either further their education or teach at a university level, they would still have to get a PhD.  Why this is (and if this is even true), I'm not sure.  Also, the article said that MFA programs are more "writerly" (whatever that means).  So would an MA, then, be more theoretical?  I'm still not certain of the distinction but I'm looking forward to class today where we can discuss this.

As for the articles "How to Write a Great Statement of Purpose" and "Writing A Convincing Personal Statement for Grad School," I really wish I had read them before I applied to Rowan's 4 + 1 program.  Even though I still got into the program, now I'm afraid I might have embarrassed myself by writing a statement of purpose without fully understanding what it actually was. But, after reading these articles, I think I wrote a pretty good statement of purpose in spite the fact that I was going in blind.  I wrote about my experience in the program, my life as a writer, and my hopes for the future with the degree -- all with a level of tongue-in-cheek humor that I like to think is very "me."  So even though I was writing a document that could have essentially decided my future, my voice was still apparent.



Leave a Reply.