I looked into the MFA programs of three New York City colleges. When I graduate from Rowan next year with both my BA and my MA, I want to move to the city to work in publishing so I figured, if I want to get my MFA as well, it'd have to be around New York. I Googled the top MFA programs in Creative Writing and found that NYU, Brooklyn College, and Hunter College had prestigious programs and were all in New York City.

I checked NYU off the list almost instantly when it said I would need to send in GRE scores (I didn't take them to get into the 4 + 1). I was also unable to find the tuition fees for the program and that kind of clinched it for me: no NYU.

Secondly, I looked at Brooklyn College because my mom went there and I got excited when I saw that they had a good Creative Writing MFA program. They don't go into depth about the classes that are required for the program and the tuition seems a bit steep, so I kept looking.

Finally, I looked at Hunter College (where my cousin goes so it's still kind of in the family!) Out of state tuition is similar to Rowan's in-state, but I would hopefully be living in NY long enough at the time I start going back to grad school that it wouldn't be too bad. Another reason I really liked Hunter's program is there is a fellowship every semester for four or five students to work with a celebrated writer as a research assistant. I think that would be so cool to do. So, of all the MFA programs I researched, Hunter's is my favorite.




Leave a Reply.